Gun ownership is a right, but it is also a responsibility. Under the recently enacted state law, gun owners now have the right to apply for a concealed carry permit. Applicants must file the appropriate application, pass a background check, receive training, and pass the state’s firearm safety exam. If you meet these requirements, then you will be issued a permit to carry a concealed weapon.
Once you are issued a permit, there are additional requirements to heed aside from properly carrying and storing your weapon. For example, permit holders may not carry their concealed weapons everywhere. The law prohibits concealed weapons in certain protected areas, including:
- School property;
- Child-care facilities;
- Sports stadiums;
- Public transportation; and
- Government property.
Furthermore, business owners have the right to prohibit concealed weapons on their property. If the business displays a state-issued sign expressly prohibiting concealed weapons, then permit holders may not bring their weapons inside.
Consequences for Violating the Illinois Concealed Carry Act
If a permit holder fails to comply with these requirements then the state may revoke his or her concealed carry license. As a permit holder, you risk having your license revoked if:
- An order of protection is entered against you (the revocation would last for the order’s duration);
- You carry a concealed weapon while under the influence (drugs, alcohol, or other substances); or
- A change in circumstances alters previous eligibility under state or federal law.
In addition to having your permit revoked, you could face jail time and a monetary fine for violating the Concealed Carry Act. For example, being charged for carrying a concealed weapon while under the influence is a Class A misdemeanor which may lead to a year in prison and/or a $2,500 fine. Multiple offenses may lead to a Class 4 felony, punishable by one to three years in prison and a $25,000 fine. Other Concealed Carry Act violations are a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by six months in prison and a $1,500 fine.
Illinois Concealed Carry License Revocation: The Process
There is a specific protocol that must be followed to comply with the law if your concealed carry license has been revoked:
- You must surrender your license within 48 hours of the revocation to your local law enforcement agency.
- You will then receive a receipt from the agency, and the license will be turned over to the Department of State Police.
Failure to surrender the license as required by the law may result in a warrant being issued for your arrest. If you are found with a revoked license, you may be arrested and charged with a Class A misdemeanor.
Contact a Schaumburg Concealed Carry Defense Lawyer
If you are facing criminal charges related to concealed carry, it is critical to seek out legal help immediately. Contact our Schaumburg weapons crimes attorneys to schedule your initial consultation. Please call (847) 577-8700 for an appointment today.